Procurement Solutions Exhibition – Things I might be buying

I was at Procurement Solutions yesterday as a speaker. But also walking the exhibition floor I came across two companies which looked pretty cool and which I will be checking out further:

Huddle

Huddle is one of the UK’s rising stars in the Enterprise 2.0 space. They make very simple online collaboration software, in a similar vein as Basecamp. Why am I interested? I am looking at better ways for us to integrate with our clients during our projects. Trouble is, most of our clients aren’t very familiar with MS Project. So a non-MS Project project managemnet/collaboration tool is going to be interesting. Especially if the price tag compares favourably against MS Project. Huddle’s Head of Marcomms was on the stand and she was refreshingly candid. I asked her how the product compared to Basecamp and DreamFactory. She wasn’t familiar with DreamFactory but there and then googled them, on her laptop which was hooked up to the plasma display on her stand. She didn’t drill into their site, clearly – she just looked at the google results. But it’s refreshing to see someone who can be open about their product and its merits compared to the rest of the marketplace – and doesn’t need to rely so much on spin. (Unless of course she was secretly spinning me in some subtle way I didn’t notice).

Mimio

Mimio make devices that attach to your whiteboard and capture the information on the whiteboard electronically. It’s all very automagic but the bits I played with and looked at certainly seemed to work. Now, I adore whiteboards. So something that can extract the scribbles I make on whiteboards – and at a sub $1000 price tag – is going to be interesting to check out further.

Leave a Reply

